The first post!

I want to start off my blogging (by the way this is my first blog experience) by introducing myself and allowing you all to get to know me a bit better. My name is Josh Lubben, and as Laura alluded to, and the title of the blog suggests, I am an Admissions Counselor in the Undergraduate Admissions Office at UMBC. I finished up my undergraduate work this past May (woo Class of 2007) earning a B.A. in Psychology from St. Mary’s College of Maryland. I’ve been working here at UMBC in the Admissions Office since the middle of July and it has been going great. Since I’ve begun I’ve had the chance to do so many things in such a short amount of time. I spent about seven weeks this past fall traveling around Southern Maryland, the Eastern Shore, Delaware, and Ohio doing individual high school visits (I went to about 100 high schools) and college fairs. It was a lot of fun to be on the road for that much time and getting to meet so many amazing high school students was a blast. Since I’ve been back from the road I’ve been able to dive right into reading applications and doing various other things around the office that I won’t bore you with, but I must say, it has been really rewarding to be able to see applications from all those schools I went to!

Well I will keep this first post pretty short, but I hope you all check back soon for more. I promise I’ll be back soon for an update for you. Take it easy everyone!

