YES! NCAA Tournament bound…

So in case you didn’t hear… the UMBC men’s basketball team defeated the Hartford Hawks 82-65 on Saturday to win the America East Conference Championship! You may have heard us mention that big game a time or two (or 137), but what can I say? We are proud of our Retrievers! Dr. Hrabowski often talks about how, at UMBC, the athletes are outstanding both on and off the court (or the field, or the track… you get the idea), meaning that not only are they gifted athletes, but they also graduate and maintain excellent grades in the meantime. It’s true. It’s nice to have sports teams we can really be proud of. And now, the first time in the history of UMBC, our men’s team will compete in the NCAA Tournament. Needless to say, it’s a pretty great time to be here.

I was in New York this weekend and had to miss the game, but wouldn’t you know it, I was walking by the ESPN Zone in Times Square (yep, I’m a tourist) and there was UMBC’s name in lights! We won! So now, it’s on to the big leagues… first stop is this Friday in Raleigh, NC, where we’ll take on the Georgetown Hoyas. We ain’t scared! Ok, well, I’m not. I don’t have to play.

I’m not going to try to give you a play-by-play of the game. That would be ridiculous because a) I wasn’t there and b) I know as much about the technicalities of basketball as I do about underwater basket weaving. But needless to say, the guys did an awesome job. Three of them have also been named to the America East Conference’s All-Tournament Team, so congratulations to Ray Barbosa, Jay Greene, and Daryl Proctor!

I gotta run and get my March Madness bracket ready. Don’t forget to tune in Friday afternoon!

