It’s decision time again… your turn!

Today is the last day of March! That means that, starting tomorrow, we can say “Memorial day is next month!” which means it is pretty much almost summer. Yippee! Ok, maybe I’m jumping ahead a little bit. But I am sure there are some of you out there who want April to just be over with, because it can be a stressful month in the life of a high school senior. You know how we admissions types talk so much about making admissions decisions? Now, it’s your turn to make the decisions. It’s time to choose a college.

You’ve done the hard part. You have diligently completed assignments from class projects to term papers for the past (almost) 4 years. You have taken the SAT or ACT… or both. You have submitted applications to the colleges that interest you and (yay!) have been admitted to some of those schools. Graduation is within sight. So with all that behind you, why does it seem like NOW is the most difficult time of all? Ohh, right, it’s time to make the BIG decision. I hope, for your sake, that you are a better decision-maker than I am. I mean, seasons change while I read the menu at a restaurant and obsessively review all my options. You could grow old waiting for me to emerge from a dressing room at a store as I deliberate my potential purchases. So as you can imagine, April of my senior year was pretty dreadful. Of course, I barely remember it now, which makes me think I blocked it from my memory. I’m sure it’s for the best. All I remember is feeling like my whole life was at stake. So yeah, I know. Deciding which college to attend can be hard. It feels like there are a million factors that go into the decision. I would tell you not to let it overwhelm you, but it probably will anyway. Just try to focus on the good stuff. Imagine yourself as a college student– moving into your residence hall, choosing classes, making lifelong friends. Chances are, wherever you go will end up being the best place for you. That ended up being the case for almost everyone I know.

Since you are reading this blog, I hope that means that UMBC is still in the running as one of your top choices. If you haven’t visited our campus yet, please do! You owe it to yourself to make an educated decision. Spending time on campus is the best way to really get a feel for a school and to see whether or not it is a good fit for you. We have an event coming up that is just for students who’ve been admitted to UMBC for the fall: New Student Day, which takes place on Saturday, April 12. All admitted students should have received an invitation in the mail with details about the program and instructions on how to register—if you didn’t, let us know! I strongly encourage all of you to attend New Student Day. It will be fun, informative, and exhausting. Think of it as UMBC 101. You will have the opportunity to meet UMBC students, staff, and faculty from lots of different departments and organizations here on campus. We will also be offering workshops, campus tours, and tours of some of our most unique facilities. You will have the opportunity to check out art exhibits here on campus, as well as a UMBC women’s softball game or a men’s lacrosse game. Basically, you will get to spend a day in the life of a UMBC student and see what makes this school tick.

For now, I will leave you alone to ponder your options. Check back soon and I’ll let you know what steps you need to take once you make your decision. Good luck!

