A fond farewell

Well, as they say, all good things must come to an end, and this is my time to say goodbye to all of you. It hasn’t quite hit me yet, but tomorrow is my last day working at the Office of Undergraduate Admissions here at UMBC.

I have really loved working here—I’ve especially enjoyed traveling to high schools in different parts of the country and meeting students from all over the world. I have learned a lot in my time here, thanks to many of the students and families I have worked with and, of course, my fantastic colleagues. In fact, my work here has confirmed that I really want to continue to work with international students in the future.

For now though, my next adventure is to spend several months volunteering and living in Central America. I can’t wait! While I am definitely going to miss my work here at UMBC and it will be hard to leave, I am looking forward to exploring a different part of the world. It’s going to take some getting used to, but I think I’ll adjust quickly 🙂

I hope you all have a fantastic summer, and to those of you who are planning to join us this fall or at any point in the future; you are in for an amazing experience. This place is really special. As we continue to gain notoriety on a national level for athletics, chess, research, and our unique academic programs, it is a great time to be a Retriever!

