Well, see ya later!

I hate goodbyes.  I really do.  I try to avoid them at all costs and favor the casual “see ya later” rather than the long goodbyes.  That’s why I’m going to try and keep this post short and sweet.  And frankly, I’m not saying goodbye to UMBC, because I really don’t think I could say a final goodbye to a place that has provided me with so many opportunities and even more wonderful memories.

I guess I should start by explaining why I am saying goodbye to UMBC.  I have decided to go to graduate school full-time at West Chester University in Pennsylvania.  I will eventually get my Master’s in Education – Counseling Psychology.  I hope to one day work with all you high school students as a Guidance Counselor.  🙂  The program starts in the Fall and will take approximately 2.5 – 3 years to complete.  There is an extensive internship and practicum involved in the Counseling Psychology program, which is a large part of why I have decided to go to school full-time.  I’m actually extremely excited to get back in the classroom, though my friends think I’m crazy!

It’s going to be really hard to leave UMBC, and I don’t think it’s hit me quite yet.  I’ve been at UMBC for six amazing years and have built some extraordinary memories and friendships.  Though I’ve always appreciated the opportunities UMBC has provided me with, I don’t think I really understood how fortunate I was as a student until I became an Admissions Counselor.  As an Admissions Counselor I learned a ton of new information about UMBC that I never knew as a student.   I enjoyed representing UMBC at college fairs and high schools, and found it easy to be honest and positive while speaking about UMBC with prospective students and their families.  All in all, this past year taught me a lot, about UMBC and about myself.  I now know that I belong in the field of education, and finally knowing what I want to do “when I get older” is a great feeling!

So, my time at UMBC has come to an end.  Don’t worry though, I’ll always make time for visits.  Wish me luck in grad school, and even more luck for moving back in with the parents (uh oh).  Thanks to everyone for the memories!  Best wishes to all current,  incoming, and prospective students.  See you on the other side!! 🙂

