From the Road: Financial Aid and Scholarships

Hello from the road!  I’m currently out on the Eastern Shore of Maryland visiting high schools, and I recently returned from a two week trip to North Carolina.  I had a great time in North Carolina; I visited quite a few high schools and went to a few college fairs.  During one college fair, which was held at UNC-Chapel Hill, I had the chance to check out the UNC arena and I saw the team pictures that included Michael Jordan.  Now that is some basketball history!

As a counselor on the road I get the chance to speak with a lot of students and answer their questions.  One question I have been getting quite a bit lately (which could have something to do with the current economy) has been related to financial aid and scholarships.  You can check out my previous post on UMBC scholarships by clicking here.  For seniors I hope you have been doing some research on potential scholarship opportunties, because as a reminder, the deadlines for the UMBC scholars programs will be around the corner faster than you can imagine.  In addition to our scholars programs at UMBC we offer merit-based scholarships, which are based primarily off of academic information in high school, and which all students are automatically considered for.

Another important thing to keep in mind is financial aid.  At UMBC we use the FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) and it is important to note that our deadline is February 14 [Apply online by Valentines :)].

As always, let us know if you have any questions for us, especially for those of your working on all those college applications.  Take care everyone, and remember to check with your guidance office to see if a UMBC counselor is coming to your school.

