Applying to UMBC as a Transfer Student

I’ve spent a lot of hours over the past few months reviewing applications for students who are interested in UMBC.  I have looked at more high school transcripts than I can count.  I’ve seen SAT scores, letters of recommendation and essays as far as the eye can see.  However, with the passing of our Regular Decision deadline, I am beginning to see more applications for transfer students.  You may already be aware, but UMBC has a substantial transfer population.  I’ve mentioned in a previous posting that approximately 1, 100 transfer students begin at UMBC each year.

If you are interested in applying to UMBC as a transfer student it is not too late (nor is it too early).  UMBC has two deadlines for transfer students; a March 15th deadline (priority), and a May 31st deadline.  In order to apply as a transfer student you must submit a transfer application, pay the $50 application fee, and submit official college transcripts from all previous post-secondary institutions.  We also ask that students who have earned less than 30 college credits at the time of applying submit their official high school transcripts and SAT and/or ACT scores.

“How many credits do I need before I can transfer?”  Great question!  We allow students to transfer to UMBC after just one full time semester at another institution.  If you have at least 14 transferable college credits (academic classes at the 100-level or higher) you can be considered a transfer student.  We also typically like to see that transfer students have at least a 2.5 cumulative GPA in their college coursework.

Valentines Day is also coming up soon and while that may mean chocolates and stuffed bears to some, here at UMBC it means business.  Okay, well Valentines Day might mean chocolate for some here at UMBC, but it is also the day the FAFSA is due.  Even though our deadline for transfer students is later in the semester, I suggest submitting your FAFSA to UMBC now if you want to be considered for need-based aid.

As always, feel free to let us know if you have questions.  Have a great weekend!

17 thoughts on “Applying to UMBC as a Transfer Student

  1. Josh,

    I just finished my transfer application and, to my surprise, although I am not complaining, my application fee was waived!

    However, it did request a copy of my PTK certificate. So who do I send it to?

    Kevin

  2. Hi Kevin- If you need to submit a copy of your PTK certificate you can mail it to the Admissions Office at the following address: UMBC, Office of Undergraduate Admissions, 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD, 21250. Thanks!

  3. Hey! I sent in my application on the 26th of Feb.. and I was waiting on my previous university to send my transcripts and it is taking a little longer than usual. If it does not get there by March 15th, is there a rolling admissions or will I have to wait until May to find out my decision? All other parts of the application is completed.

    Thanks
    Monica

  4. Hi Monica- We send decision letters to transfer students on a weekly basis, so once we receive all the required materials for your application you can expect a letter soon after. Thanks!

  5. Hi Kwame- Transcripts and other required documents for your Undergraduate application can be sent to the following address (also listed in the Contact section): UMBC, Office of Undergraduate Admissions, 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD, 21250

  6. I’m applying for spring 2010 and currently I have 24 completed credits. After fall 2009 I will have 38 credits. Since I only have 24 at the time of application do I still have to send my high school transcripts and SAT scores?

    • Hi Mirsaid- Students with less than 30 earned credits at the time they apply are required to submit official high school transcripts and SAT scores. You do have the option of waiting to send your college transcripts until you have over 30 credits, but you would be able to receive your decision sooner if you submit your high school information when you apply. Let me know if you have additional questions. Thanks!

      • Ok, so do SAT scores play big role because I had low SAT scores, but I have almost all As in college. And thank you for replying so fast.

  7. Hi,am a transfer student in my school currently,am in my sophomore and i wanted to transfer to Umbc but i find it difficult because i haven’t taken SAT before.My current school admitted me without it and i was wondering if UMBC would do the same, if not,what should i do? I wanted to know because i intended to apply for spring 09.Your quick reply will be appreciated.
    thanks

    • Hi Ama- If you are a transfer student who has earned at least 30 college credits then you are not required to submit your SAT scores. Thanks.

    • The deadlines for the Spring 2011 term are November 1 (priority) and December 15 (final).

  8. Hey, I want to transfer to UMBC from a 4 year university for the Spring Semester but I dont have 30 credit hours. I had a 2.5 GPA when leaving high school and my SAT scores were honestly not the best. I wanted to know if it is better to enroll in a winter semester at a community college and earn enough credit hours to reach 30 credits or just try to enroll before December 15 and try to get admitted then?

    • Hi Dominick,
      Students can still apply to UMBC as transfer students even if they’ve earned fewer than 30 college credits. Students who have not earned 30 credits must submit their high school information (HS transcript and SAT or ACT scores). For transfer students we review their overall academic record but focus on the college coursework.

  9. What is the deadline to sumit transfer application for Spring 2011?? I see two different dates on the website.

    • The priority deadline for the Spring 2011 term was November 1 and the final deadline to apply is December 15.

Comments are closed.