Let Me Introduce You to Baltimore

Hello again! Since we last spoke, I have said my goodbyes to sunny North Carolina, and trudged northward to Shelton, CT. I visited schools in both Fairfield County and New Haven County, and spoke with some very enthusiastic students! I also discovered one of my new favorite towns, Darien, CT. The houses all have their own distinct personality and their Main Street provided some great locally owned delis! Also, it didn’t hurt that the leaves were already changing making the scenery absolutely beautiful.

Currently, I’m in Long Island, NY where I’m busy checking out local fairs, visiting schools and, yes, trying to avoid the monsoon weather that appeared out of nowhere. So, other than the fact that I failed to pack my rain boots, New York has been yet another great adventure! I’ve already started my prep-work for the NACAC on Sunday, which if you’re in the area please stop by and see me! It is located at the Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Uniondale, NY and the fair goes from 11:00am-4:00pm, so there’s plenty of time to ask questions. If you can’t find me, just look for the banner that says “We’re Number 1” referring to the U.S. News Report ranking UMBC as the #1 Up-and-Coming University for … wait for it … THE SECOND YEAR IN A ROW 🙂 So bring a duffle bag for materials, a friend or family member, and some comfortable walking shoes and head on over to Uniondale, NY!

As you can probably tell, most of my recruiting takes place out-of-state. Because of this, I am always asked “Where are you located?” and “What is there to do in Baltimore?”.  These questions are so vital to the college process because, location is very important. You need to feel comfortable and “at-home” on both the college campus and in the surrounding area. So this post is ultimately for you out-of-staters that are unfamiliar with the wonderful world of Baltimore.

What is there to do in Baltimore, you ask?

  1. Visit the Aquarium. You might scoff at this at first, what’s so exciting about fish? But did you know that the National Aquarium in Baltimore is the MOST visited Aquarium on the East Coast?! And that they are in the top 3 Aquariums in the entire United States?!? Fact. So check it out!
  2. Eat. This one is by far my favorite. Baltimore not only has all of the chain restaurants that we all know and love, but it also includes MANY local restaurants offering a wide variety of dishes. Born and bred in Maryland, I’ve always favored seafood restaurants, and at the Inner Harbor, you run into at least one every block! So chomp away (preferably pac-man style)!
  3. Shop till you drop. Shopping in Baltimore includes everything from large shopping malls to local shops so you never have to worry about not finding the perfect birthday gift for mom!
  4. See a show! Whether it’s music, dance, theater or a local band playing on the street, Baltimore provides an extensive art venue all throughout the city. It’s a great way to relax with friends after a busy week of mid-term exams!
  5. Just relax and enjoy the scenery. The water and city skyline provide a great view to take a break from school work and enjoy the area.

I hope these suggestions were helpful to all of you out-of-staters, and maybe a couple of you Marylander’s learned a thing or two as well 😉 Be sure to check out the Baltimore Collegetown website to find even more information about the city and all it has to offer.

Thanks for tuning in and enjoy your (hopefully sunny) weekend!

