OPA What?

Well, first I want to say CONGRATS to all of the admitted Freshman and Transfers (thus far)!  This has been an incredible year for application reading and I’ve enjoyed getting to know each and every one of you.  So now that the stresses of filling out the application and waiting for a decision are over, it’s time to have a little fun!  That’s where Orientation comes in.  You have all received information on how to sign up for orientation so I won’t bore you with the details (you just need to remember to sign up through your my.umbc account), rather, I wanted to introduce you to our (and soon to be yours too) favorite people in admissions, the OPAs!

No silly, that isn’t a typo, OPA stands for the Orientation Peer Advisors (you can see why we shortened it) and they are the ‘life’ of your orientation experience.  Our OPA crew is made up of 18 current UMBC students who are VERY EXCITED to show you the ins and outs of UMBC.  Get to know each of them before orientation here, that way you’ll already know someone before you arrive.

I look forward to seeing all of you over the summer, but for now just try to stay cool by the pool 😎

 

