To the Gridiron!

I don’t know about you, but I’m SO relieved that the lockout ended last summer because Superbowl XLVI was quite a game.  I mean it takes me back to Tyree and his amazing helmet catch in 2008!  Am I right?!?

Ok, I have a confession to make.  I know absolutely NOTHING about football, which, is quite surprising if you’ve ever met my sport-fanatical roommates, co-workers and family.  If you’re like me, you know how excruciating it is to sit through 4 hours of “first downs” and “blitzes” on that dreaded Sunday evening when the entire country is expected to tune in to the BIG GAME.  Luckily this year, my fellow sport-naive co-worker found a list of hot topics on Gawker.com to make me sound like I know what I’m talking about.  I’ve listed a few of my favorites below.

  • During a lull, say something casual like, “I’m just really pulling for my Pats/G-Men tonight.” Smile broadly and hold it for 43 seconds or until someone asks if you are all right.
  • Mention the 2008 Super Bowl and something about “Tyree” and a “helmet catch.” This will be a tricky one to pull off, and is probably best achieved with mumbling and a face-palm, as in: “Mmmbumbammm 2008 mmba Tyree and THAT HELMET CATCH!” (Face-palm. Exit left for more onion dip.)
  • Ask for someone to pass the onion dip, because how many times a year do you get to eat onion dip? Actually, say this: “How many times a year do you get to eat onion dip, you know?!?”

Needless to say, I failed miserably.  But, truth is, it was a blast just having an excuse to get everyone together.  And the commercials weren’t so bad either 😉

