Perfect Fit for a Hero?

Hero – noun – a mythological or legendary figure often of divine descent  endowed with great strength or ability.  That’s what Marriam-Webster dictionary has as the definition of a hero.  It seems a little far fetched to me, but I won’t argue with the experts 😉

There are a few people out there that I would consider my hero.  Not because they hail from mythology, like Zeus, or because they have great physical strength, like Superman, but because of the impact they have had on my life.  I won’t get all emotional on y’all, but my heroes would have to be my four older cousins and the legendary basketball coach Jim Valvano; if you’re in the mood for a good tear jerker just look up Jimmy V’s 1983 ESPY Speech.

We read a lot about heroes in your essays – whether they are your parents or a mentor who has made you the person that you are today.  But did you know we have some heroes here at UMBC?  If you haven’t seen them, you should check them out for yourself – http://www.umbc.edu/hero/.  This just shows that UMBC could be the perfect fit for all you heroes out there – so put on your super hero capes and come visit us!

