Awe-Cappella

When I was in college I was involved in a lot. But my favorite activity was any in which I was able to perform. Now that I’m graduated, I don’t have all that much time to sing anymore so I have to live vicariously through the amazing student groups on campus.

This past weekend I was lucky enough to attend the International Championship of Collegiate A Cappella (ICCA) Semi-Finals at Johns Hopkins University. One of UMBC’s own a cappella group the Cleftomaniacs was a contender and boy did they shine!

It is truly amazing how these groups create music and the sound of instruments with nothing but their voices. If you’ve never heard a cappella music, take a look at the following clip of the Cleftos from last year (no videos are available yet for this past weekend’s competition):

Clefto’s “Rearranger”

I love the music scene at UMBC, and I have a special fondness for the a cappella groups on campus. Seriously, I’m in awe of them all. The Cleftos, Mamas Boys, Stilettos, and Taal-Capella each add something special to campus. Check out some of their YouTube videos! I’m sure you’ll be impressed. (And if you’re not interested in a cappella music, check out one of UMBC’s thirty-odd music ensembles).

