Spring has Sprung!

I just returned from a wonderful trip to North Carolina, where I attended two of the national college fairs. It was great to meet so many of you and to talk to you about UMBC! I heard some great stories and questions, which always pump me up. It didn’t hurt that the weather was absolutely gorgeous and that the trees were (mostly) in full bloom. I love my trips down South for a few reasons, but nothing can compare to these trips in the springtime.

In honor of Punxsutawney Phil’s correct prediction – it’s been just about six weeks to the day since he saw his shadow and it definitely feels like spring! – here’s a list of my top five favorite things about UMBC in the spring:

5. I get to go to North Carolina, where the flora is abloom and Cook-Out is open late.

4. The trees along Academic Row bloom. This makes for a beautiful walk to class!

3. Quadmania is just a few weeks away! This year Gym Class Heroes is headlining.

2. We’re one month closer to the opening of the new Performing Arts and Humanities Building.

1. Seeing our students enjoying the sunshine and warmth on our many green spaces.

My least favorite thing about springtime, period:

1. Allergies.

In closing, I leave you with this quirky, anonymous poem that my mother used to recite every spring:

“Spring is sprung, the grass is ris.

I wonder where the birdies is.

They say the bird is on the wing.

Ain’t  that absurd?

I always thought the wing was on the bird.”

