I’ve been fooled!

As Coleen was quick to point out in her recent post, I was fooled by UMBC’s April Fools edition of the Retriever Weekly. This yearly edition of the Retriever is called the Deceiver Weekly, and after five years, still tricks me. I, being too trusting of just about everyone, read these stories with intense interest and spout their contents as if they were coming out of the Washington News Post. It doesn’t help that April Fools’ Day isn’t for another five days.

Luckily I am not the only one fooled by the Deceiver. After another article revealed that Rick Santorum will deliver this year’s commencement speech and receive an honorary doctorate degree from UMBC, campus staff received many emails and phone calls asking if this was true. (it’s not; Dr. Subra Suresh, Director of the National Science Foundation, will be delivering the address).

Yet another article got me even more excited than the article about the Hunger Games class. The Deceiver posted an article confirming an eighth novel in the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. While I whole-heartedly believed the THG article, and began to become suspicious by the Santorum posting, the Harry Potter article really made me question what I had read.

I suppose the article on the fashions of campus’ resident geese should have tipped me off.

That said, kudos to the Deceiver writers for completely fooling me and the rest of my office! That’s some talented writing

