Baltimore Does Baseball

Happy Monday everyone!  Just think – next Monday is a holiday and I will be laying by the pool all day.  That is the only thing that is getting me through this Monday…

This weekend I went to my first baseball game of the season!  While I’m a huge sports junkie, I have to admit that baseball isn’t my favorite sport – I need something with more speed and action.  But honestly, I can go to any sporting event as long as it has cotton candy and nachos.  So, as soon as I got those two items taken care of I was ready to sit back and watch the game.

This weekend was the “Battle of the Beltway” in DC – where the Nationals play the Orioles.  Because of the Preakness Horse Race taking place in Baltimore, the games were played at National’s Stadium in Southeast DC.  We had seats on the first baseline, about 6 rows back.  Needless to say, as soon as I sat down all I could think of was how great of an angle I was at to get hit in the mouth with a foul ball:

While the O’s got out to a quick 4-0 lead, the Nats tried to come back, but were unsuccessful and the O’s won 6-5.  While National’s Stadium is gorgeous, and they gave me a free hat, there is nothing like going to an O’s game at Camden Yards in downtown Baltimore.  UMBC is lucky enough to be located about 10 minutes from the Yard, so students can go to games really easily.  Also, on Friday nights you can get in to the game for $6 a person with your student ID.  There are a ton of great places to eat around Camden Yards, and you can bring your own food and drinks in, as long as they have not been opened.  But honestly, we all need to save room for the Cotton Candy so it doesn’t matter anyway.

And just to prove that I’m not making up how great Camden Yards is, even USA Today agrees that Camden Yards is the best baseball park for college students!  So next time you’re in Baltimore, make sure you take a ride by Camden Yards, and check out a game for yourself!

