Spreading the Ripples

So I know I’m a little late with my blog posting, but it’s for a good reason. I swear!

For the past several days I have been at the Maryland Hugh O’Brian Youth (HOBY) Leadership Seminar. This is a program that helps young leaders (sophomores in high school) realize their potential as leaders. We also instill a sense of community service during the weekend-long conference.

Every year, I am so inspired by these students. These are our future leaders and college students. As I have been involved with HOBY throughout the past eight years, I have had the great fortune of seeing my peers and, later, my students become leaders in their colleges and universities. I am so proud to be a part of this organization and I am even prouder of all of my HOBY ambassadors!

This outstanding weekend got me to thinking now that I am back at UMBC.  You don’t have to attend HOBY to be a student leader. Every single student we admit has the potential for leadership and in many cases, already has some leadership experience in high school or a previous college. Not only does stepping up as a leader look good on your resume, it can help you become a better, more well-rounded person. I challenge each of you to take initiative during your college years. Join a student organization and become involved; take the lead. Community service is also a huge part of the UMBC experience and we have tons of opportunities for you to take the lead in community-based organizations. Take the lead, make a difference!

