It’s (Almost) Turkey Lurkey Time!

The atmosphere in the office right now is especially cheery. We’ve all returned from fall travel – well, Hollin has a few visits left, but we’re mostly here! – and we’re settling into a new routine. Plus, Thanksgiving is less than a week away!

I love my job for many reasons, but at least in part because when I come back from two months on the road it’s already the holiday season. The leaves are either on the ground or clinging to their branches in various shades of autumn.  My grandmother called me the other day with a list of things to bring next Thursday (an apple tart and butternut squash). My mother is really excited about our annual tradition of watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, especially for the Broadway acts. It’s a time of tradition, togetherness, and, of course, food.

One of my personal traditions every year is to start listening to holiday music the day after Thanksgiving. When I was a kid I would start in August, which would drive my parents crazy. So as I matured (a little) I began to wait until after Thanksgiving so the music wouldn’t become stale for anyone. Well, I had a moment of weakness earlier this week. Jaime started talking about the holidays and the music and I had to create a new holiday-themed Spotify playlist. Yes, I listened to holiday music about a week early this year. And I’m not ashamed.

As I logged into myUMBC today I began to notice several Thanksgiving-themed posts and it got me interested in thinking about how UMBC celebrates the holidays. There are tons of traditions on campus: Homecoming, the Trash Monster, the ProveIT campaign. But today I noticed some very special Thanksgiving themed traditions that got me so ready for next Thursday (and a four day weekend).

Here are some highlights. Our athletics groups are hosting a 5K Turkey Trot the Monday after Thanksgiving so everyone can get back in shape after Thursday’s food-a-thon. Several places of worship in the area are hosting their own Thanksgiving dinners, free for the community. UMBC Vegetarians is hosting a Gentle Thanksgiving (i.e., all the fun minus the turkey).

And just for good measure, here’s one of my favorite Thanksgiving- (or maybe Christmas-) themed songs: Turkey Lurkey Time

